公平住房

标题图片页Tempalte 2桌面 标题图像页面模板2 移动
蓝绿色Swoosh图形桌面 蓝绿色Swoosh图案手机

在美国,针对少数民族的仇恨犯罪有所增加,这是不可接受的。我们都必须采取立场,反对我们社区的仇外心理、种族主义和歧视。如果你在你的社区或在寻找住房的过程中,因为你的种族或民族血统而经历了种族主义,请向HOME报告,以便调查并为你提供帮助。

邻里间的骚扰

你受到保护,在你的街区不受骚扰。骚扰包括干扰、胁迫、威胁或恐吓。这方面的例子包括邻居对同伴使用种族污蔑,向少数族裔社区分发仇恨邮件,房东因其民族血统而辱骂租户,等等。

了解更多信息,如果你在家里或附近目睹或遭受基于受保护阶层的骚扰,请联系HOME。

受保护的类别

根据法律规定,在弗吉尼亚州的任何地方,你不得因为以下受保护的阶层而被拒绝或在房屋租赁、销售、借贷或保险方面受到不同的待遇。

两个人形的矢量图标,意在代表种族的概念

种族是1968年《公平住房法》最早涵盖的四个受保护阶层之一。这个阶层是指属于任何种族群体或具有任何种族群体的身体特征的人。

向量 双手代表皮肤颜色的图标

肤色是1968年《公平住房法》最早涵盖的四个受保护阶层之一。颜色、种族和国籍之间有重叠,但一般来说,这个类别是指一个人的皮肤的可见颜色。

向量的几个宗教符号的图标

宗教是1968年《公平住房法》最早涵盖的四个受保护阶层之一。所有宗教的人都受到保护,包括没有宗教信仰的人。

一个地球的矢量图标

民族血统是1968年《公平住房法》最早涵盖的四个受保护阶层之一。民族血统是指你来自哪里或被认为来自哪里。这包括血统、种族、出生地、文化和语言。

男性和女性符号的矢量图标

1974年,《公平住房法》被修订,将性别列为受保护的类别。这一类别保护个人免受基于生理性别、性别和性别定型观念的歧视。

无障碍图标的矢量图,一个推着轮椅的人的图标。

1988年,《公平住房法》被修订,将残疾列为受保护的类别。残疾被定义为 "身体或精神损伤,严重限制了一项或多项主要生活活动"。

向量图标:一个人形抱着一个婴儿,旁边站着一个孩子

1988年,《公平住房法》被修订,将家庭状况列为受保护的类别。家庭状况包括任何对18岁以下儿童有合法监护权的人,怀孕的人,或正在收养孩子的人。家庭状况保护的唯一例外是适用于老年人的社区。

数字55和指向上方的箭头的矢量图标

就法律而言,老龄化是指55岁或以上的人。在联邦公平住房法中,老年不是一个受保护的阶层,但是,弗吉尼亚州的公平住房法将保护范围扩大到55岁及以上的人。以年长为由拒绝出售、出租或协商住房是违法的。

向量 手拿硬币的图标

2020年7月1日,资金来源或收入来源成为弗吉尼亚州公平住房法中的一个受保护阶层。因为任何合法向房屋租赁者或购买者提供资金或代表他们提供资金的来源而进行歧视是非法的,包括任何援助、福利或补贴计划,无论这种计划是由政府或非政府实体管理。

勋章和带子的矢量图标,上面有三颗星

2020年,弗吉尼亚州的公平住房法中加入了军人身份。这包括现役军人、曾在现役军队服役并在不光彩的条件下退役或释放的退伍军人,以及现役军人或退伍军人的家属。

向量 心和彩虹的图标

2020年,弗吉尼亚州的公平住房法中加入了性取向。因某人实际或被认为是异性恋、双性恋、同性恋而对其进行歧视是非法的。这包括因某人的外貌、举止、与之在一起的伴侣、或任何自我认同的符号或旗帜而产生的歧视。

变性人符号的图标,包括女性、男性和变性人符号的组合,围绕一个圆圈。

2020年,性别认同被加入到弗吉尼亚州的公平住房法中。无论是否考虑到个人出生时的指定性别,因其与性别有关的身份、外表或其他与性别有关的特征而歧视某人都是非法的。这包括由于某人的性别不符合的外观,其明显的性别与他们的合法身份(驾驶执照)不匹配,或任何自我认同的符号或旗帜而产生的歧视。

 

平等住房机会标志


 

什么是公平住房?

公平住房是一种理念,即所有人都有权在他们选择的地方居住,不受歧视。公平住房是关于拥抱多样性,并努力创造更强大的社区,使之成为受欢迎和包容的社区。公平住房不是要给某些人特殊的权利,而是要确保每个人都有平等的权利和平等的机会获得住房。

1968年,《公平住房法》获得通过,以保护人们在与住房有关的交易中不受歧视,如租房,获得抵押贷款,或购买房主保险。根据弗吉尼亚州和联邦法律,基于以下受保护阶层成员的身份而对其进行歧视是非法的:种族、肤色、宗教、国籍、性别、家庭状况、残疾、55岁或以上者、资金来源、性取向、性别认同或军人身份。每个人都属于一个或多个受保护的阶层,所以每个人都应该受到公平住房法的平等保护。

公平住房法的要求适用于几乎所有 ,包括物业经理、业主、房东、房地产经纪人、银行、储蓄机构、信用社、保险公司、抵押贷款人和评估师。

 

什么是歧视?

歧视是基于某种特征对一个人或一群人的区别对待。

歧视可以有很多面孔,从赤裸裸的仇恨到有礼貌但无知。它也不总是一个人对另一个人采取行动,它也可以存在于传统、信仰、政策、思想、实践、法律和机构中。有人可能会做出歧视性的行为,即使这不是他们的本意。无论它是如何发生的,其结果是属于某些群体的人被剥夺了机会。

大多数住房歧视已经从要求 "只有白人租户 "的街区标志走了很长的路。今天,它往往是微妙的,有时是礼貌的,并可能使人们对他们的权利是否受到侵犯感到困惑。美国住房和城乡建设部 美国住房和城市发展部(HUD) 估计,每年发生的住房歧视事件超过200万起。不幸的是,这些事件中只有不到百分之一被报告。重要的是要了解在不同情况下歧视的表现,以保护你的权利和其他人的权利。

歧视可能发生在寻找住房的过程中,例如申请公寓或买房。其结果是,一个人被排除在他们选择的居住地之外,必须在一个不太理想的地方寻找。这涉及到

  • 直接拒绝或骚扰
  • 虚假陈述房屋可用性
  • 取消资格或针对特定人群的额外申请要求
  • 不公平的融资或贷款资格
  • 指导,或限制个人对住房的选择

歧视也可能发生在已经建立的生活安排中,例如在一个公寓楼中。其结果是,一个人可能不再感到受欢迎或安全,并可能感到需要搬家以避免情感或身体上的痛苦。这涉及到

  • 骚扰、恫吓或胁迫
  • 对租户的区别对待
  • 不公平或不平等的条款和条件
  • 未能提供平等获得服务和设施的机会
  • 忽视维修或住宿

差异性影响是指并非出于歧视目的的做法或政策被发现造成住房歧视。例如--对有任何犯罪史的每个人的全面禁令对非裔美国人产生了不同的影响,因为少数民族和非少数民族之间的监禁率不成比例。

 

我们可以如何帮助

你不需要独自面对歧视。如果你在住房方面受到歧视,或者你不确定你是否受到歧视,我们可以帮助你。向我们的公平住房团队提交一份表格,我们的受理协调员将与你联系,讨论细节。重要的是,你要包括尽可能多的信息,这样我们才能帮助确定最佳行动方案。

本协会没有配备律师。有关法律建议,请咨询律师。

即使你不是歧视的直接受害者,我们仍然希望听到这个消息!如果你听说有歧视性做法发生,请与我们联系,并提供尽可能多的信息,以便我们进行调查。

 

您可以如何帮助

HOME依靠可靠的、有社会意识的测试员的工作来发现住房歧视的情况。如果你有兴趣帮助我们在你的社区维护公平住房,请考虑成为HOME的测试人员之一。

你认为你可能受到了歧视?

fair housing

Hate crimes against minorities have increased in the U.S. This is unacceptable. We all must take a stand against xenophobia, racism, and discrimination in our communities. If you have experienced racism because of your race or national origin in your community or in your search for housing, report it to HOME to investigate and get you help.

Neighborhood Harassment

You are protected from harassment in your neighborhood. Harassment includes interference, coercion, threats, or intimidation. Examples can include neighbors using racial slurs against a fellow neighbor, the distribution of hate mail to a minority neighborhood, a landlord verbally abusing a tenant because of their national origin, and more.

Learn more and contact HOME if you witness or are subject to harassment in your home or neighborhood based on your protected class.

Protected Classes

By law, you may not be denied or treated differently in the rental, sale, lending, or insuring of housing anywhere in Virginia on the basis of any of the following protected classes:

Race was one of the first four protected classes covered by the Fair Housing Act of 1968. This class refers those belonging to or having the physical characteristics of any racial group.

Color was one of the first four protected classes covered by the Fair Housing Act of 1968. There is overlap between color, race, and national origin, but generally this class refers to the visible color of one’s skin.

Religion was one of the first four protected classes covered by the Fair Housing Act of 1968. People of all religions are protected, including people who have no religion.

National origin was one of the first four protected classes covered by the Fair Housing Act of 1968. National origin means where you are from or perceived to be from. This includes ancestry, ethnicity, birthplace, culture, and language.

In 1974 the Fair Housing Act was amended to include sex as a protected class. This class protects individuals from discrimination based on biological sex, gender, and gender stereotypes.

In 1988 the Fair Housing Act was amended to include disability as a protected class. Disability is defined as “a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities.”

In 1988 the Fair Housing Act was amended to include familial status as a protected class. Familial status covers anyone who has legal custody of children under age 18, is pregnant with a child, or is in the process of adopting.The only exception to the familial status protection applies to communities for the elderly.

For the purposes of law, elderliness refers to persons age 55 or older. Elderliness is not a protected class under federal fair housing laws, however, Virginia fair housing law extends protections to those age 55 and up. It is unlawful to refuse to sell, rent, or negotiate housing based on elderliness.

Source of income, or source of funds, became a protected class in the Virginia’s fair housing laws on July 1, 2020. It is unlawful to discriminate because of any source that lawfully provides funds to or on behalf of a renter or buyer of housing, including any assistance, benefit, or subsidy program, whether such program is administered by a governmental or nongovernmental entity.

In 2020, veteran status was added to Virginia’s fair housing laws. Veterans are those who served in the active military, naval, or air service, and who were discharged or released under conditions other than dishonorable.

In 2020, sexual orientation was added to Virginia’s fair housing laws. It is illegal to discriminate against a person for their actual or perceived heterosexuality, bisexuality, homosexuality. This includes discrimination due to someone’s physical appearance, mannerisms, the partner they are with, or any self-identifying symbols or flags.

In 2020, gender identity was added to Virginia’s fair housing laws. It is illegal to discriminate against someone for their gender-related identity, appearance, or other gender-related characteristics of an individual, with or without regard to the individual’s designated sex at birth. This includes discrimination due to someone’s gender non-conforming appearance, their apparent gender not matching their legal identification (drivers license), or any self-identifying symbols or flags.

 

Equal housing opportunity logo


 

What is Fair Housing?

Fair Housing is the idea that all people have the right to live where they choose, free from discrimination. Fair housing is about embracing diversity and striving to create stronger communities that are welcoming and inclusive. Fair housing is not about giving certain people special rights, it’s about making sure everyone has equal rights and equal access to housing.

In 1968, the Fair Housing Act was passed to protect people from discrimination in housing-related transactions, such as renting an apartment, obtaining a mortgage, or purchasing homeowner’s insurance. Under Virginia and federal laws, it’s illegal to discriminate against someone based on their status as a member of the following protected classes: race, color, religion, national origin, sex, familial status, disability, or, in Virginia, those aged 55 and up. Everyone belongs to one or more protected classes, so everyone should be protected equally by fair housing laws.

The requirements under the fair housing laws apply to almost all housing providers, including property managers, owners, landlords, real estate agents, banks, savings institutions, credit unions, insurance companies, mortgage lenders, and appraisers.

 

What is Discrimination?

Discrimination is differential treatment of a person or a group of people based on a certain characteristic.

Discrimination can have many faces, from outright hateful to polite but ignorant. It also isn’t always one person acting against another, it can also exist in traditions, beliefs, policies, ideas, practices, laws, and institutions. Someone might act discriminatory even if it was not their intention. No matter how it happens, the result is that people belonging to certain groups are denied access to opportunities.

Most housing discrimination has come a long way from neighborhood signs demanding “white tenants only.” Today, it is often subtle, sometimes polite, and can leave people confused as to whether their rights were violated. The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) estimates that more than two million instances of housing discrimination occur each year. Unfortunately, fewer than one percent of those instances are reported. It is important to learn what discrimination can look like in different situations to protect your rights, and the rights of others.

Discrimination can happen during the search for housing, such as applying for an apartment or buying a home. The result is that a person is excluded from living where they choose to and must look in a less desired location. This involves:

  • Direct refusal or harassment
  • False representation of home availability
  • Additional application requirements that disqualify or target a specific group of people
  • Unfair financing or loan qualifications
  • Steering, or restrictions an individual’s choice of housing

Discrimination can also occur in an already established living arrangement, such as in an apartment complex. The result is that a person may no longer feel welcome or safe and may feel the need to move to avoid emotional or physical distress. This involves:

  • Harassment, intimidation, or coercion
  • Differential treatment of tenants
  • Unfair or unequal terms and conditions
  • Failure to provide equal access to services and facilities
  • Neglecting maintenance or accommodations

Disparate impact is when practices or policies that are not made with the intention to discriminate are found to cause housing discrimination. For example – blanket bans on everyone with any criminal history has a disparate impact on African-American men because of the disproportionate incarceration rates between minorities and non-minorities.

 

How We Can Help

You don’t have to face discrimination alone. If you have been discriminated against in housing, or if you are unsure if you have, we can help. Submit a form to our fair housing team and one of our intake coordinators will contact you to discuss the details. It is important that you include as much information as possible, so we can help determine the best course of action.

If the situation calls for it, there are several ways we can help. We can help write fair housing complaints to file with the Virginia Fair Housing Office, HUD, or other local enforcement agency. We can assist in writing reasonable accommodations or reasonable modifications for people with disabilities. If a complaint is filed, we can help advocate during the filing, the investigative process, or the conciliation process. How much we can do is entirely dependent on the individual situation.

HOME does not have attorneys on staff. For legal advice, please consult an attorney.

Even if you are not the direct victim of discrimination, we still want to hear about it! If you have heard of discriminatory practices occurring, contact us with as much information as possible so we can investigate.

 

How You Can Help

HOME relies on the work of dependable, social conscious testers to uncover instances of housing discrimination. If you are interested in helping us uphold fair housing in your community, please consider becoming one of HOME’s testers.

Think you may have been discriminated against?