الإسكان العادل

عنوان الصفحة الرئيسية للصفحة الرئيسية لسطح المكتب 2 قالب صفحة صورة رأس الصفحة 2 موبايل 2
سطح مكتب رسومات السوش الأزرق والأخضر أزرق أخضر سوش أخضر جرافيك جوال


الفئات المحمية

بموجب القانون، لا يجوز حرمانك أو معاملتك بشكل مختلف في تأجير أو بيع أو إقراض أو تأمين السكن في أي مكان في ولاية فرجينيا على أساس أي من الفئات المحمية التالية:

أيقونة متجهة لشخصين بألوان مختلفة

كان العرق إحدى الفئات الأربع الأولى المحمية التي يغطيها قانون الإسكان العادل لعام 1968. وتشير هذه الفئة إلى أولئك الذين ينتمون إلى أي مجموعة عرقية أو لديهم الخصائص المادية لأي مجموعة عرقية.

أيقونة متجهة لثلاثة أياد ملونة مختلفة

كان اللون أحد الفئات الأربع الأولى المحمية التي يغطيها قانون الإسكان العادل لعام 1968. هناك تداخل بين اللون والعرق والأصل القومي، ولكن بشكل عام تشير هذه الفئة إلى اللون المرئي لبشرة الشخص.

أيقونة متجهة لرموز دينية

كان الدين أحد الفئات الأربع الأولى المحمية التي يغطيها قانون الإسكان العادل لعام 1968. يتمتع الأشخاص من جميع الأديان بالحماية، بما في ذلك الأشخاص الذين لا دين لهم.

أيقونة متجهة لكوكب الأرض

كان الأصل القومي أحد الفئات الأربع الأولى المحمية التي يغطيها قانون الإسكان العادل لعام 1968. الأصل القومي يعني المكان الذي تنتمي إليه أو يُعتقد أنك تنتمي إليه. وهذا يشمل النسب والعرق ومحل الميلاد والثقافة واللغة.

أيقونة متجهة لرموز الذكور والإناث

في عام 1974 تم تعديل قانون الإسكان العادل ليشمل الجنس كفئة محمية. وتحمي هذه الفئة الأفراد من التمييز على أساس الجنس البيولوجي والجنس والقوالب النمطية الجنسانية. اعتبارًا من عام 2020، يغطي قانون الإسكان العادل الفيدرالي التوجه الجنسي والهوية الجنسية تحت فئة الجنس المحمية.

الأيقونة التي يسهل الوصول إليها: شخصية مبسطة على كرسي متحرك

في عام 1988، تم تعديل قانون الإسكان العادل ليشمل الإعاقة كفئة محمية. وتعرّف الإعاقة بأنها "عاهة بدنية أو عقلية تحد بشكل كبير من نشاط أو أكثر من الأنشطة الحياتية الرئيسية".

صورة متجهة لشخص بالغ يحمل رضيعاً يقف بجواره طفل صغير

في عام 1988 تم تعديل قانون الإسكان العادل ليشمل الوضع العائلي كفئة محمية. ويغطي الوضع العائلي أي شخص له حضانة قانونية لأطفال دون سن 18 سنة، أو حامل بطفل، أو في طور التبني.والاستثناء الوحيد من حماية الوضع العائلي ينطبق على المجتمعات المحلية للمسنين.

رمز متجه لسهم يشير لأعلى وبداخله الرقم 55

لأغراض القانون، تشير الشيخوخة إلى الأشخاص الذين تبلغ أعمارهم 55 عامًا أو أكثر. الشيخوخة ليست فئة محمية بموجب قوانين الإسكان العادل الفيدرالية، ومع ذلك، فإن قانون الإسكان العادل في فرجينيا يوفر الحماية لمن يبلغون 55 عامًا فأكثر. من غير القانوني رفض بيع السكن أو تأجيره أو التفاوض بشأنه على أساس كبر السن.

أيقونة متجهة ليد تحمل عملة معدنية

أصبح مصدر الأموال، أو مصدر الدخل، فئة محمية في قوانين الإسكان العادل في فرجينيا في 1 يوليو 2020. وبموجب القانون الفيدرالي للإسكان العادل، فإن مصدر الأموال محمي بسبب تأثيره المتباين على الأشخاص الملونين والأمهات العازبات والأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة. من غير القانوني التمييز بسبب أي مصدر يوفر الأموال بشكل قانوني لمستأجر أو مشترٍ للسكن أو بالنيابة عنه، بما في ذلك أي برنامج مساعدة أو إعانة أو إعانة سواء كان هذا البرنامج يدار من قبل كيان حكومي أو غير حكومي.

أيقونة متجهة لميدالية بها نجوم

في عام 2020، تمت إضافة الوضع العسكري إلى قوانين الإسكان العادل في فرجينيا. ويشمل ذلك أفراد الخدمة العسكرية الفعلية، والمحاربين القدامى الذين خدموا في الخدمة العسكرية الفعلية وتم تسريحهم أو تسريحهم في ظروف غير مخلة بالشرف، وأفراد أسر أفراد الخدمة العسكرية الفعلية أو المحاربين القدامى.

أيقونة متجهة لقلب فوق قوس قزح

في عام 2020، تمت إضافة التوجه الجنسي إلى قوانين الإسكان العادل في فرجينيا. اعتبارًا من عام 2020، يغطي قانون الإسكان العادل الفيدرالي أيضًا التوجه الجنسي تحت فئة الجنس المحمية. من غير القانوني التمييز ضد أي شخص بسبب ميوله الجنسية الفعلية أو المتصورة من جنسين مختلفين أو ثنائي الجنس أو المثلية الجنسية. ويشمل ذلك التمييز بسبب المظهر الجسدي للشخص أو سلوكياته أو الشريك الذي يكون معه أو أي رموز أو أعلام تُعرّف عن نفسه.

رمز متجه لرمز متحول جنسي شائع

في عام 2020، تمت إضافة الهوية الجنسية إلى قوانين الإسكان العادل في فرجينيا. اعتبارًا من عام 2020، يغطي قانون الإسكان العادل الفيدرالي أيضًا الهوية الجنسية تحت فئة الجنس المحمية. من غير القانوني التمييز ضد شخص ما بسبب هويته الجنسية أو مظهره أو غير ذلك من الخصائص المتعلقة بنوع الجنس للفرد، سواء كان ذلك بغض النظر عن الجنس المحدد للفرد عند الولادة أو بدونه. ويشمل ذلك التمييز بسبب مظهر شخص ما غير مطابق لنوع الجنس، أو عدم تطابق جنسه الظاهر مع هويته الجنسية القانونية (رخصة القيادة)، أو أي رموز أو أعلام تحدد هويته الجنسية.

 


شعار تكافؤ فرص السكن المتساوية

ما هو الإسكان العادل؟

الإسكان العادل هو فكرة أن لجميع الناس الحق في العيش في المكان الذي يختارونه، دون تمييز. يتعلق الإسكان العادل باحتضان التنوع والسعي إلى إنشاء مجتمعات أقوى ترحب بالجميع وتسعى إلى خلق مجتمعات أكثر ترحيباً وشمولاً. لا يتعلق الإسكان العادل بمنح بعض الأشخاص حقوقاً خاصة، بل يتعلق بالتأكد من أن الجميع يتمتعون بحقوق متساوية وإمكانية متساوية في الحصول على السكن.

في عام 1968، تم إقرار قانون الإسكان العادل لحماية الأشخاص من التمييز في المعاملات المتعلقة بالإسكان، مثل استئجار شقة أو الحصول على رهن عقاري أو شراء تأمين على مالك المنزل. بموجب قوانين ولاية فيرجينيا والقوانين الفيدرالية، من غير القانوني التمييز ضد شخص ما على أساس وضعه كعضو في الفئات المحمية التالية: العرق أو اللون أو الدين أو الأصل القومي أو الجنس أو الحالة العائلية أو الإعاقة أو من يبلغون 55 عامًا أو أكثر أو مصدر الأموال أو التوجه الجنسي أو الهوية الجنسية أو الوضع العسكري. ينتمي الجميع إلى فئة أو أكثر من الفئات المحمية، لذلك يجب حماية الجميع على قدم المساواة بموجب قوانين الإسكان العادل.

تنطبق المتطلبات المنصوص عليها في قوانين الإسكان العادل على جميع مقدمي خدمات الإسكان تقريبًا، بما في ذلك مديري العقارات والمالكين وأصحاب العقارات والوكلاء العقاريين والوكلاء العقاريين والبنوك ومؤسسات الادخار ومؤسسات الادخار والاتحادات الائتمانية وشركات التأمين ومقرضي الرهن العقاري والمثمنين.

ما هو التمييز؟

التمييز هو المعاملة التفاضلية لشخص أو مجموعة من الأشخاص على أساس خاصية معينة.

يمكن أن يكون للتمييز عدة وجوه، من الكراهية الصريحة إلى التمييز المهذب والجاهل. كما أنه ليس دائمًا ما يكون شخصًا واحدًا يتصرف ضد شخص آخر، بل يمكن أن يوجد أيضًا في التقاليد والمعتقدات والسياسات والأفكار والممارسات والقوانين والمؤسسات. قد يتصرف شخص ما بشكل تمييزي حتى لو لم يكن في نيته. وبغض النظر عن كيفية حدوث ذلك، فالنتيجة هي حرمان أشخاص ينتمون إلى مجموعات معينة من الحصول على الفرص.

لقد قطع معظم التمييز في الإسكان شوطًا طويلًا من لافتات الأحياء التي تطالب "المستأجرين البيض فقط". أما اليوم، فغالبًا ما يكون هذا التمييز خفيًا وأحيانًا مهذبًا، ويمكن أن يترك الناس في حيرة من أمرهم بشأن ما إذا كانت حقوقهم قد انتهكت. إن وزارة الإسكان والتنمية الحضرية الأمريكية (HUD) أن أكثر من مليوني حالة تمييز في السكن تحدث كل عام. ولسوء الحظ، يتم الإبلاغ عن أقل من واحد بالمائة من هذه الحالات. من المهم معرفة كيف يمكن أن يبدو التمييز في المواقف المختلفة لحماية حقوقك وحقوق الآخرين.

يمكن أن يحدث التمييز أثناء البحث عن سكن، مثل التقدم بطلب للحصول على شقة أو شراء منزل. والنتيجة هي أن الشخص يُستبعد من العيش في المكان الذي يختاره ويضطر إلى البحث في مكان أقل رغبة. ويشمل ذلك:

  • الرفض المباشر أو المضايقة المباشرة
  • التمثيل الكاذب لتوفر المنزل
  • متطلبات الطلب الإضافية التي تستبعد أو تستهدف مجموعة محددة من الأشخاص
  • التمويل غير العادل أو مؤهلات القرض
  • التوجيه، أو القيود المفروضة على اختيار الفرد للسكن

يمكن أن يحدث التمييز أيضاً في ترتيبات معيشية قائمة بالفعل، كما هو الحال في مجمع سكني. والنتيجة هي أن الشخص قد لا يعود يشعر بالترحيب أو الأمان وقد يشعر بالحاجة إلى الانتقال لتجنب الضيق العاطفي أو الجسدي. ويشمل ذلك:

  • المضايقة أو الترهيب أو الإكراه
  • المعاملة التفاضلية للمستأجرين
  • الشروط والأحكام غير العادلة أو غير المتكافئة
  • عدم توفير المساواة في الوصول إلى الخدمات والمرافق
  • إهمال الصيانة أو أماكن الإقامة

الأثر المتباين هو عندما يتبين أن الممارسات أو السياسات التي لم توضع بقصد التمييز تتسبب في التمييز في السكن. على سبيل المثال - الحظر الشامل على كل شخص له أي تاريخ إجرامي له أثر متباين على الرجال الأمريكيين من أصل أفريقي بسبب معدلات السجن غير المتناسبة بين الأقليات وغير الأقليات.

مضايقات الجيران

لقد ازدادت جرائم الكراهية ضد الأقليات في الولايات المتحدة، وهذا أمر غير مقبول. يجب علينا جميعاً أن نتخذ موقفاً ضد كراهية الأجانب والعنصرية والتمييز في مجتمعاتنا. إذا كنت قد تعرضت للعنصرية بسبب عرقك أو أصلك القومي في مجتمعك أو في بحثك عن سكن، فأبلغ عن ذلك إلى منظمة HOME للتحقيق في الأمر والحصول على المساعدة.

أنت محمي من المضايقات في منطقتك. تشمل المضايقة التدخل أو الإكراه أو التهديد أو التخويف. يمكن أن تشمل الأمثلة على ذلك استخدام الجيران إهانات عنصرية ضد جار آخر، وتوزيع رسائل بريدية تحض على الكراهية على حي الأقليات، وإساءة المالك لفظياً إلى مستأجر بسبب أصله القومي، وغير ذلك.

اتصل بـ HOME إذا شاهدت أو تعرضت لمضايقات في منزلك أو الحي الذي تسكنه على أساس الطبقة المحمية التي تنتمي إليها.

قم بتنزيل نشرة التحرش في الحي: بالإنجليزية PDF

كيف يمكننا المساعدة

ليس عليك أن تواجه التمييز بمفردك. إذا كنت قد تعرضت للتمييز في السكن، أو إذا كنت غير متأكد مما إذا كنت قد تعرضت للتمييز، فيمكننا مساعدتك. أرسل استمارة إلى فريق الإسكان العادل لدينا وسيتصل بك أحد منسقي الاستقبال لدينا لمناقشة التفاصيل. من المهم أن تقوم بتضمين أكبر قدر ممكن من المعلومات، حتى نتمكن من المساعدة في تحديد أفضل مسار للعمل.

حتى لو لم تكن ضحية مباشرة للتمييز، ما زلنا نريد أن نسمع عن ذلك! إذا سمعت عن حدوث ممارسات تمييزية، اتصل بنا مع أكبر قدر ممكن من المعلومات حتى نتمكن من التحقيق في الأمر.

كيف يمكنك المساعدة

تعتمد HOME على عمل المختبرين الذين يمكن الاعتماد عليهم وذوي الوعي الاجتماعي للكشف عن حالات التمييز في الإسكان. إذا كنت مهتمًا بمساعدتنا في دعم الإسكان العادل في مجتمعك، يرجى التفكير في أن تصبح أحد مختبري HOME.

هل تعتقد أنك ربما تعرضت للتمييز ضدك؟

fair housing

Hate crimes against minorities have increased in the U.S. This is unacceptable. We all must take a stand against xenophobia, racism, and discrimination in our communities. If you have experienced racism because of your race or national origin in your community or in your search for housing, report it to HOME to investigate and get you help.

Neighborhood Harassment

You are protected from harassment in your neighborhood. Harassment includes interference, coercion, threats, or intimidation. Examples can include neighbors using racial slurs against a fellow neighbor, the distribution of hate mail to a minority neighborhood, a landlord verbally abusing a tenant because of their national origin, and more.

Learn more and contact HOME if you witness or are subject to harassment in your home or neighborhood based on your protected class.

Protected Classes

By law, you may not be denied or treated differently in the rental, sale, lending, or insuring of housing anywhere in Virginia on the basis of any of the following protected classes:

Race was one of the first four protected classes covered by the Fair Housing Act of 1968. This class refers those belonging to or having the physical characteristics of any racial group.

Color was one of the first four protected classes covered by the Fair Housing Act of 1968. There is overlap between color, race, and national origin, but generally this class refers to the visible color of one’s skin.

Religion was one of the first four protected classes covered by the Fair Housing Act of 1968. People of all religions are protected, including people who have no religion.

National origin was one of the first four protected classes covered by the Fair Housing Act of 1968. National origin means where you are from or perceived to be from. This includes ancestry, ethnicity, birthplace, culture, and language.

In 1974 the Fair Housing Act was amended to include sex as a protected class. This class protects individuals from discrimination based on biological sex, gender, and gender stereotypes.

In 1988 the Fair Housing Act was amended to include disability as a protected class. Disability is defined as “a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities.”

In 1988 the Fair Housing Act was amended to include familial status as a protected class. Familial status covers anyone who has legal custody of children under age 18, is pregnant with a child, or is in the process of adopting.The only exception to the familial status protection applies to communities for the elderly.

For the purposes of law, elderliness refers to persons age 55 or older. Elderliness is not a protected class under federal fair housing laws, however, Virginia fair housing law extends protections to those age 55 and up. It is unlawful to refuse to sell, rent, or negotiate housing based on elderliness.

Source of income, or source of funds, became a protected class in the Virginia’s fair housing laws on July 1, 2020. It is unlawful to discriminate because of any source that lawfully provides funds to or on behalf of a renter or buyer of housing, including any assistance, benefit, or subsidy program, whether such program is administered by a governmental or nongovernmental entity.

In 2020, veteran status was added to Virginia’s fair housing laws. Veterans are those who served in the active military, naval, or air service, and who were discharged or released under conditions other than dishonorable.

In 2020, sexual orientation was added to Virginia’s fair housing laws. It is illegal to discriminate against a person for their actual or perceived heterosexuality, bisexuality, homosexuality. This includes discrimination due to someone’s physical appearance, mannerisms, the partner they are with, or any self-identifying symbols or flags.

In 2020, gender identity was added to Virginia’s fair housing laws. It is illegal to discriminate against someone for their gender-related identity, appearance, or other gender-related characteristics of an individual, with or without regard to the individual’s designated sex at birth. This includes discrimination due to someone’s gender non-conforming appearance, their apparent gender not matching their legal identification (drivers license), or any self-identifying symbols or flags.

 

Equal housing opportunity logo


 

What is Fair Housing?

Fair Housing is the idea that all people have the right to live where they choose, free from discrimination. Fair housing is about embracing diversity and striving to create stronger communities that are welcoming and inclusive. Fair housing is not about giving certain people special rights, it’s about making sure everyone has equal rights and equal access to housing.

In 1968, the Fair Housing Act was passed to protect people from discrimination in housing-related transactions, such as renting an apartment, obtaining a mortgage, or purchasing homeowner’s insurance. Under Virginia and federal laws, it’s illegal to discriminate against someone based on their status as a member of the following protected classes: race, color, religion, national origin, sex, familial status, disability, or, in Virginia, those aged 55 and up. Everyone belongs to one or more protected classes, so everyone should be protected equally by fair housing laws.

The requirements under the fair housing laws apply to almost all housing providers, including property managers, owners, landlords, real estate agents, banks, savings institutions, credit unions, insurance companies, mortgage lenders, and appraisers.

 

What is Discrimination?

Discrimination is differential treatment of a person or a group of people based on a certain characteristic.

Discrimination can have many faces, from outright hateful to polite but ignorant. It also isn’t always one person acting against another, it can also exist in traditions, beliefs, policies, ideas, practices, laws, and institutions. Someone might act discriminatory even if it was not their intention. No matter how it happens, the result is that people belonging to certain groups are denied access to opportunities.

Most housing discrimination has come a long way from neighborhood signs demanding “white tenants only.” Today, it is often subtle, sometimes polite, and can leave people confused as to whether their rights were violated. The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) estimates that more than two million instances of housing discrimination occur each year. Unfortunately, fewer than one percent of those instances are reported. It is important to learn what discrimination can look like in different situations to protect your rights, and the rights of others.

Discrimination can happen during the search for housing, such as applying for an apartment or buying a home. The result is that a person is excluded from living where they choose to and must look in a less desired location. This involves:

  • Direct refusal or harassment
  • False representation of home availability
  • Additional application requirements that disqualify or target a specific group of people
  • Unfair financing or loan qualifications
  • Steering, or restrictions an individual’s choice of housing

Discrimination can also occur in an already established living arrangement, such as in an apartment complex. The result is that a person may no longer feel welcome or safe and may feel the need to move to avoid emotional or physical distress. This involves:

  • Harassment, intimidation, or coercion
  • Differential treatment of tenants
  • Unfair or unequal terms and conditions
  • Failure to provide equal access to services and facilities
  • Neglecting maintenance or accommodations

Disparate impact is when practices or policies that are not made with the intention to discriminate are found to cause housing discrimination. For example – blanket bans on everyone with any criminal history has a disparate impact on African-American men because of the disproportionate incarceration rates between minorities and non-minorities.

 

How We Can Help

You don’t have to face discrimination alone. If you have been discriminated against in housing, or if you are unsure if you have, we can help. Submit a form to our fair housing team and one of our intake coordinators will contact you to discuss the details. It is important that you include as much information as possible, so we can help determine the best course of action.

If the situation calls for it, there are several ways we can help. We can help write fair housing complaints to file with the Virginia Fair Housing Office, HUD, or other local enforcement agency. We can assist in writing reasonable accommodations or reasonable modifications for people with disabilities. If a complaint is filed, we can help advocate during the filing, the investigative process, or the conciliation process. How much we can do is entirely dependent on the individual situation.

HOME does not have attorneys on staff. For legal advice, please consult an attorney.

Even if you are not the direct victim of discrimination, we still want to hear about it! If you have heard of discriminatory practices occurring, contact us with as much information as possible so we can investigate.

 

How You Can Help

HOME relies on the work of dependable, social conscious testers to uncover instances of housing discrimination. If you are interested in helping us uphold fair housing in your community, please consider becoming one of HOME’s testers.

Think you may have been discriminated against?